Can You Feel Change?

As human beings, we know that one of our biggest strengths is adaptation. Our ability to change is one of the main factors in determining our existence. As I sit here writing this, I’m compelled to wonder. Do we actually feel change happen?
I know my first thought was, “Yes, of course we do.” Obviously, that was not my only thought. I started thinking about something I’d read about infancy and how as we age we develop a sense of “I” or “me.” When we are our smallest and most vulnerable we see ourselves as one in everything. One in our mothers, our toys, our food, water, and air. There is no such thing as “too far” or “too high.” It’s all the same.
Once I learned we come from that place, it was hard to imagine that we actually feel change happen. Change is constantly occurring. Each moment, each thought, it’s all apart of one big continuous change.
We are never who we say we are for long. Until that day, we begin holding ourselves fully accountable. Until then change will “happen” to us. Once we found ourselves in a state of happiness and contentment though, I believe everything will feel as one. Then change will be a memory of the past. Maybe then, we can feel it. A nostalgic and surreal vision of who we were. What do you think? Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

