Zen and Coffee

Most days, I wake up early, reveling in the fact that I get to sleep more. “Oh yes! Another two hours?!” Well now, this morning I woke up, saw it was 6:30, and I grabbed my notebook and books and went outside. I realized, it’s much colder outside than one would have thought, but instead of moving my party back inside I threw on my first hoodie in months. I definitely forgot how cozy they are.
Anyway, I couldn’t believe the calm that is an early morning. There is such a peace that lays over everything. It’s as if, even the houses are asleep. To realize the beauty and inspiration of the quiet start to a day, is simply a breath of fresh air. I feel clearer, more at ease, and prepared for whatever the day may bring.
I decided it seemed like another opportune moment to pick up my “The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying.” As usual, I found more depth and knowledge than I could have hoped for. Lately, I have been working a lot within perception. Doing my best to understand how my actions and the actions of others are all one.
This was an invaluable quote to find, “Whatever joy there is in this world
All comes from desiring others to be happy
And whatever suffering there is in this world
All comes from desiring myself to be happy.”
I believe that our happiness is a wonderful side-effect in bringing others to their own as well. I know that my own happiness is a fluid emotion moving in and out of my consciousness, but my ability to bring joy to others is a conscious decision I choose with every person I am around.
I am thankful to feel open enough within myself to express the joy someone else may bring to me. To delight in a joke, hug, or even shoes! I believe all of humanity is in a sense one, and in turn I believe we should all be open to one another. So of course, we should always be generating love, happiness, and joy. Even if we struggle with it within ourselves. In fact, especially if we struggle for it within ourselves!
Life is change, and thank you for being a part of mine. Safe journeys.

2 thoughts on “Zen and Coffee

  1. Just this morning I awoke in worry. But I stepped out into the woods behind our home, before dawn, and felt the wind and saw the trees sway. Peace.

    Then I have the great fortune to come upon your blog with this great post.

    What a lucky day.

    Tom

Leave a Reply

